A day with Equilibrium Stables’ top groom, Marieke Aldenzee!

Today we speak with  Marieke Aldenzee, who is working in a slightly different stable than the usual sport stable.

She is working in Equilimbrium Stable in Oisterwijk that is specialists in rehabilitation, aqua training and swim sessions for horses. Today she takes us with her on a typical work day in a horse Spa !

Could you tell us how you like to start the day?

I always start my day opening the stables and feeding the horses. It is a good moment to think about what a fantastic job I’ve got! The minute that the horses wake up, they are always happy to see me. (this is of course because I feed them in the morning, but this doesn’t matter to me :p).  While they enjoy their breakfast, I start mucking out the stables.

 

Are you a morning person?

Actually I’m not really a morning person even though I start at 7 o’clock in the morning. I don’t mind getting up so early, but I like to have my start in the day all alone. After I feed the horses my mood is immediately much better! And that’s the point where all the other Grooms come in. Perfect timing!

How does a normal workday for you look like?

As I mentioned already, I start at 7 in the morning. First, I start feeding the horses and while they are enjoying their breakfast, I start cleaning the stables. When they are done eating, the first ones are going in the field for the morning. After mucking out, it is time to start with the rehab and the training of the horses. This means that we start in the spa with some aqua training and swimming sessions of the horses. No day is the same, so it can be that we could have a client coming during the day for a spa treatment. Or that my boss would like to start riding early. That is a good thing because it means that every single day is different, and this keeps my job super nice to do! We always end our day by cleaning all the stables again. Hygiene is super important in our job so our facilities/stable always look super shiny!

What time are you finish?

I start at 7 in the morning and mostly I finish on time at 16:00. We try our best that I’m done around 4 pm. We work on shifts, this means that some of my co-workers start in the afternoon and work till 6:30 pm.  Every day is covered from 7 am till 18:30 pm.

 

What is your favorite product?

This is not such a difficult question! I love to work with VL powder, because we work so much with water (swimming, aqua training, shower after field/riding) the legs of the horses can stay wet pretty long. When they are wet, we dry them with a towel and put some VL powder on their legs and this will take the water out much quicker. In this way we avoid soft spots and wounds.

 

What is your favourite moment of the day?

My favourite moment is the time just before leaving at the end of the day. All the horses are quiet after their training or rehab sessions. Everything is clean and the place look beautiful! We put some classical music on, because it will give them the ultimate relaxing atmosphere. I can go home and totally relax!

 

What do you like to do in your spear time when you finish working?

When I have a day off, I like to go training with my dog! He is like a child to me and I love to practice agility with him. He is eager and excited about it and this gives me much encouragement to keep on training with him. He is still super young, so we take our time. If it is possible, I would like to do some agility shows with him in the near future.

 

Thank you Marieke for taking the time to speak with us !

 

Would you also like to be interviewed or have other nice ideas for an interview you can email Linda at linda@freelancehorsegrooms.com

 

 

 

A day with Charlotte Dickin!

Today Charlotte,  super groom, and stable manager at Pasmore stables shares with us her daily routine and inside tips.

She shows us how it really is to work at a professional showjump stable, and take care of top sport horses.

Thanks for taking the time to talk to us, Charlotte.

 

 

As we all know in horses often you have to start early so we wonder are you a morning person? 
I wouldn’t say that I am a morning person, but early mornings are deffinatly an unavoidable part of the job and the thought of the horses waiting for breakfast is a huge motivation to get out of bed. If we have an early start or a show day I like to be at work in plenty of time to get everything organized. If you start the day in a rush you risk forgetting something, and you make it much more difficult to be organised.
What does a normal workday look like for you? 
We aim to get all the horses out  of their stables at least three times a day! In an ideal world they would all be out before 10am, then for a second time before 3pm, and then once more before the end of the day.
A normal work day at home starts at 7am, we start by feeding breakfast and mucking out all the horses.
We have our day planned out on a big whiteboard on the stable wall so we all know what the plan is for each horse that day. That way we can insure that nothing is missed, and all the horses receive the best care possible.
What time do you finish? 
We aim to finish just after 5pm, I like to try and keep the dinner feed as close to 5pm as possible. Even if we aren’t completely finished I’ll feed them at 5 and finish up after, as I find the horses are much happier keeping to their routine. (Armani knows as soon as its even 3 minutes past dinner time!!) But just like all stables, there will always be days when we don’t finish on time. Putting the horses first is my first priority so Id much rather finish late than cut corners and rush to get finished by 5.
What is your favourite product? 
I have many favourites, but I think that simple white vinegar doesn’t get the recognition it deserves! It can be used as a final rinse after a bath (1/4 vinegar, 3/4 Water)  or even added to a hot towel to help lift dirt and grease. There are so many benefits from using vinegar, as its a natural fly repellent, (which is especially helpful in the summer),  it helps keep you’re horses skin healthy, clean, and shiny, and will even kill some bacteria. Whenever I have a horse that gets a few hives/ bumps/ fly bites I spray vinegar mixed with which hazel directly onto the skin, and within a few hours they’re normally gone.
It is also very helpful around the barn, I add a bit of vinegar to a soapy bucket when cleaning the stable walls and windows. It does make the stables smell of vinegar though, but once its dry there is no smell at all! And best of all its very easy to pick up in the supermarket and very cheap.
What is your favourite moment of the day? 
My favourite moment of the day is night check, when the barn is quiet and you can spend time with all the horses.
Did you like this interview ? 
We are currently hiring for Pasmore stables send us your cv if you would like to work at this beautiful stable !

 

Male | 33 Years old | Albanian | 0008

Age: 33
Nationality: Albanian
Current living area: Sweden
Smoker: No

Preference of discipline: Jumper
Driver’s license: Yes
HVG license: No
Own car: No

Visa: Yes
Years of expierence: 5 or more, Yes
A little more about their work expierence: Have been working like groom, trainer and stable manager.

Skills:
Stallions: Yes
Clipping: Yes
Lunging: Yes
Plaiting:Yes

Shows: 2*, 3*, 4*, 5*

I would like to describe myself as: Hard working, Detail minded, I am a morning person, Teamplayer

Riding expierence: Medium
Name at least three employers: Hellenic Riding Club Athens, Nässom Stuteri & Praktik, Medorit AB
recommendations: Greg Voglis Champion of Greece 2016
Telephone number for recommendations: 00306945580314

Freelance or full time: Freelance
When can you start: 2019-09-26

Extra information for future employer: I have been working in difernt levels of competition with horses in difernt countrys of the Europa. I am not alout to travel in USA without a visa. I live now in Göteborg Sweden. I can go everywhere in Europe.

Female | 22 years old | Denmark | groom

Age: 22
Nationality: Danish
Current living area: Denmark
Smoker: No

Preference of discipline: Dressage
Driver’s license: Yes
HVG license: No
Own car: Yes

Visa: Yes
Years of expierence: 2-3, Yes
A little more about their work expierence: I currently work as a stablehand and have done this for about 3 years

Skills:
Stallions: Yes
Clipping: Yes
Lunging: Yes
Plaiting:Yes

Shows: 2*

I would like to describe myself as: Hard working, Detail minded, I like to work alone, Outgoing, Teamplayer

Riding expierence: Medium, Advanced
Name at least three employers: Roskilde Rideklub
Horsebo Dressage
Tune sportsrideklub
When Horses Choose w. Mia Lykke Nielsen
recommendations: Roskilde Rideklub is my currently workplace so I’d have to ask them for one.
Telephone number for recommendations: 00

Freelance or full time: Full time
When can you start: 2019-12-02

Extra information for future employer: I currently own 3 horses – a retired mare, 6 year old gelding and a yearling – which I’d like to bring with me. Living is required.

 

Male | 32 years old | Slovakia | 0007

Age: 32
Nationality: Slovakia
Current living area: Slovakia
Smoker: Yes

Preference of discipline: Im discipline person.
Driver’s license: Yes
HVG license: No
Own car: No

Visa: Yes
Years of expierence: 5 or more, Yes
A little more about their work expierence: apolinarys@seznam.cz

Skills:
Stallions: Yes
Clipping: Yes
Lunging: Yes
Plaiting:No

Shows: 3*, 4*, 5*

I would like to describe myself as: Hard working, Detail minded, I am a morning person, Outgoing, Teamplayer

Riding expierence: Basic
Name at least three employers: Hamburg- Holsteiner Verbund
Qatar Olympic Team- Holland, Valkenswaard (Jan Tops)

Turkish Olympic Team, S.I.E.C.-Pfungstadt
recommendations: From mi last Employer S.I.E.C
Telephone number for recommendations: 00421951178009

Freelance or full time: Full time
When can you start: 2019-10-15